Skip to main content

Facebook scam threatens to delete your account

posted onNovember 24, 2011
by l33tdawg

A new Facebook phishing scheme is about as nasty as they come: The perpetrators threaten to delete users' Facebook accounts unless they hand over various account details within 24 hours.

While some of you might welcome such a deletion, most of us would not. Sophos Security is warning about the scheme, which was shared on Hoax-Slayer.

Facebook users may get emails that purport to be from Facebook, saying that the user is violating the social network's policy regulations by annoying or insulting other Facebook users. And, the email says, unless certain personal and financial information (including credit card numbers) is submitted within 24 hours, the user's account will be done away with.

Source

Tags

Facebook Security

You May Also Like

Recent News

Friday, December 15th

Thursday, December 14th

Wednesday, December 13th

Tuesday, December 12th